2017

Ethiopia

Hellish

The weight of traditions is enormous. Hundreds of men still converge on the shores of Lake Assalé to extract salt, as did their parents and grandparents. With their small curved blade axes, these miners extract salt bricks at temperatures sometimes approaching 50°C. The camels and donkeys walk with lethargy in this hell, waiting to be loaded with their cargo of salt to leave in a single file at dawn, by the hundreds.

 

Not far from there, the Dallol volcano produces geological curiosities: acid hot springs, sulphur mountains, small gas geysers, acid basins. A show on a white background with an exceptional richness of colours of yellow, green and ochre red. And above all, this smell of pestilential sulphur that you can smell long before you get to the site, at the limit of what you can bear.

 

What can we say about this incredible spectacle of the Earth's belly pouring out at night from the mouth of Erta Alé, Ethiopia's most active volcano, with its permanent lava lake (since 1906). Terrifying. Exciting. The emotion is great, but the fatigue ends up taking me to this warm ground where the night will be short.

Urban
Urban
Divine
Divine
Show More

to the 2
other galleries

Studio cKeip, 2265 chemin Albert Guigou, 13290 Aix-en-Provence, France - contact@ckeip.com - +33 630 592 057

Numéro de Siret: 822 699 369 00010 - CGV

© 2019 by Christophe Keip.

2017

Ethiopia

Infernale

Le poids des traditions est énorme. Des centaines d'hommes convergent toujours sur les bords du lac Assalé pour y extraire le sel, comme le faisait leurs parents et leurs grands-parents. Avec leurs petites haches à lame courbée, ces mineurs extraient des briques de sel par des températures frôlant parfois les 50°C. Les dromadaires et les ânes sont comme en léthargie dans cet enfer, attendant de se voir charger leur cargaison de sel pour repartir en file indienne au jour tombant, par centaines.

 

Non loin de là, le volcan Dallol produit des curiosités géologiques: sources chaudes acides, montagnes de soufre, petits geysers gazeux, vasques d’acides. Un spectacle sur fond blanc d’une richesse de couleurs exceptionnelle de jaune, vert et rouge ocre. Et surtout cette odeur de soufre pestilentielle que l’on sent bien avant d’arriver sur site, à la limite du supportable.

 

Que dire enfin de ce spectacle incroyable du ventre de la Terre se déversant de nuit de la bouche de l’Erta Alé, volcan le plus actif d’Ethiopie, avec son lac de lave permanent (depuis 1906). Terrifiant. Excitant. L’émotion est grande, mais la fatigue finit par m’emporter sur ce sol tiède où la nuit sera courte.

Urban
Urban
Divine
Divine
Show More

vers les 2
autres galeries

Studio cKeip, 2265 chemin Albert Guigou, 13290 Aix-en-Provence, France - contact@ckeip.com - +33 630 592 057

Numéro de Siret: 822 699 369 00010 - CGV

© 2019 by Christophe Keip.